Please note: This was published over a year ago. Phone numbers, email addresses and other information may have changed.

College announces NASA scholars

Photos and Story by

Seventeen science students from Portland Community College received scholarships in amounts up to $6,000 from the Oregon NASA Space Grant Consortium. Students from 11 Oregon colleges and universities received these scholarships, but PCC had the most awards with 17 recipients.Some of the 17 NASA scholars at PCC.

The Oregon Space Grant Consortium is one of 52 members of the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program. The statewide program is run by Oregon State University and supports NASA objectives of fostering and encouraging careers in the aerospace industry. In addition to its K-12 programs and faculty resources, the consortium awards scholarships and fellowships to exemplary students of science, technology, engineering and math, including undergraduates who express the goal of a career in aerospace.

Margie Fyfield, dean of Science and Technology at the Rock Creek Campus, whose division had seven scholarship recipients, said that such programs are critical to maintaining and advancing U.S. technology and economic competitiveness.

“These students are the future science leaders for our country,” Fyfield said. “Receiving this funding makes a world of difference for a student.”

The undergraduate scholarship application process is highly competitive, with candidates ranked according to scholastic achievement, aerospace-related career goals, and strength of the two required recommendation letters. The 2009 NASA scholars from PCC include:

Cascade Campus (705 N. Killingsworth St.)

Noah Dear (Oregon City), Phillip Kangas (Scappoose) and Ryan Pelkey (North Portland).

Rock Creek Campus (17705 N.W. Springville Road)

Troy Bowman (Hillsboro), Suzanna Kangas (Scappoose), Megan McKim (Beaverton), Jason Rausch (Manning), Harrison Schadel (Beaverton), Dylan Stirewalt (Aloha) and Bridget Wyckoff (Southwest Portland).

Sylvania Campus (12000 S.W. 49th Ave.)

Nathan Forster (Sherwood), Sarah Knoles (Southeast Portland), Alexander Krewson (Southwest Portland), Levi Sitts (Scappoose), Shelly Skolfield (Southeast Portland), Jason Smith and Jared Steagall (Tigard).

About James Hill

James G. Hill, an award-winning journalist and public relations writer, has been the Communications Specialist for the Office of Public Affairs at Portland Community College since November of 1999. A graduate of Portland State University, J... more »


Email Subscriptions

Enter your email address to follow PCC News and recieve notifications of new posts by email.

What's Hot?


Search PCC News